Introducing Lakelet … in Beyul fingering!

I’d like to introduce you to a lovely new shawl, Lakelet, in Beyul fingering released by my talented pal Renée Callahan last week. Lakelet begins at the corner with just a few stitches, and grows across the width until you reach a lace edging, which is worked with a small amount of contrasting yarn.

Shown here is Steppe yellow and natural Yurt, Lakelet is a simple knit, perfect for relaxing with on a summer holiday. The fingering weight version creates a light shawl perfect for chilly summer nights.

However, as I am currently experiencing a frigid, wet British summer, I decided to knit my sample in heavier Islington DK for a much larger and warmer version of this shawl!

I used my hoarded skeins of indigo-dyed Shiraai, which is a light Eau de Nil colour. The thicker yarn needed a bit of a lighter treatment on the edge so finished this version with a simple picot bind off for a bit of frill.


The result is a large shawl that I can use as a blanket to ward off the ongoing chill we’ve been experiencing instead of a summer!

Check out Renèe’s other patterns and get your Lakelet now on Ravelry.

Enjoy, and keep your eyes peeled for more Beyul, yak/silk/merino, and other goodies in the shop update this Friday.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close