Avocado is Good For You: more naturally dyed Islington & Baskerville!

from top left: Baskerville Dawn, Avocado 1, Avocado 2, Islington Avocado, Islington Copper, Beyul Rhubarb, Ramble Hawthorne, Heather, Meadowsweet.

I’ve naturally dyed 3 more special-edition batches of Baskerville and Islington with avocado! Stunning paired with grey or browns, this delicate blush hue is a perfect foil for the other madder-like reds I have this season and I’ve created a colour wheel above with the various hues I’ve got in stock to show you how wonderful they look next to each other.

There are three blush-y pink-peaches available this time. Two are in my small-batch Baskerville, British Gotland, Exmoor and Silk. Shown below next to natural grey Dawn, Avocado 1 is a warm pink/Oyster, whilst Avocado 2 is more saturated blush:

The Islington – British Bluefaced Leicester / Silk, directly above, is slighty darker than previous batches and would be amazing used with the other 2! The contrast of the shine in the silk against the halo of Gotland would be DIVINE. 😉

Every skein is truly one of a kind as there is a larger variation of colour due to the the natural dye process, and there are a only a small number available in each batch due to the number of Avocados needed to achieve the colour.

The first time I dyed with avocado I immediately cast on a Sourcebook Sideways Pullover by Norah Gaughan, using a strand of Dawn with the avocado dyed yarn to make it a full DK weight. This jumper is, hands down, the knitting make I am thus far most proud of! (Evidenced by smug face below). 😋

I am sorely tempted to drop all other projects and get a Starting Point by Joji Locatelli on the needles this weekend in some of these with an accent of black Islington Voodoo and Ochre gold. I think this would be another hands-down winner, and a portable blanket as well!

I am releasing all 3 colours this Friday Sept 22nd at 5 pm GMT. Be forewarned, these generally sell out fast, so try to get the skeins while they last.  😉

Shop Avocado dyed!
Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close